AUSTRALIAN NATIVE BEE ASSOCIATION INC.

- President:- Ian Driver Email: pres@australiannativebee.org.au
- Secretary:- Alex Griffiths Email: sec@australiannativebee.org.au Ph: 0478 784 719



MINUTES

OF THE AGM OF THE AUSTRALIAN NATIVE BEE ASSOCIATION INC. HELD AT BULIMBA COMMUNITY CENTRE, 1 BARRAMUL STREET, BULIMBA ON SUNDAY 2 OCTOBER 20221

Welcome:-

The President, Ian Driver, welcomed all and open the meeting at 1.00pm AEST and is the Chair for the AGM. Those that had joined by Zoom were told that they will need to raise their hands if a motion is put. The Chair asked that a members present make sure they have signed in.

Present:-

40 members as per the attendance sheets and 25 by Zoom making a total of 65.

Apologies:-

Nil

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 7 November, 2021

The minutes had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The Chair asked if there were any questions or corrections. There were none.

It was moved Jennifer Shea, seconded Stephen Brownlie "That the minutes from the Annual General Meeting held on 7 November 2021 at Bulimba Q 4171, as circulated, be accepted."

CARRIED

President's Report:-

The Presidents report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The Chair asked if there were any questions. There were none.

It was moved Jennifer Shea, seconded George Edwards that "That the Presidents Report, as circulated, be accepted"

CARRIED

Branch Reports:-

Branch reports were circulated to members prior to the meeting. The Chair asked if there were any questions. There were not.

It was moved Jennifer Shea, seconded George Edwards "That the Branch reports, as circulated, be accepted."

CARRIED

Subcommittee Reports:-

The Honey Subcommittee report was included in the President's Report so was not voted on separately. The Chair of that Sub-Committee, Dean Haley, added that food standard application was now with FSANZ and they will make a decision within the next 12 months.

Receival of the Financial Statement:-

The financial report had been circulated prior to the meeting.

It was moved Greg Shea, seconded Stephen Brownlie "That the financial statement, as circulated, be received."

CARRIED

Adoption of the Financial Statement:-

The Chair asked if there were questions regarding the finance report. There was a question about the future use of funds. The Chair advised that it was important to maintain a healthy bank account so that the association can respond quickly to requests for funding of native bee programs across the country if supported by the Executive. Examples were the honey food standard and the upcoming propolis research. There was no intention to hoard funds into the future as it is important that they be used to support branches and programs that meet the associations objectives.

It was moved Greg Shea, seconded David Anderson "That the financial statement, as circulated, be accepted."

CARRIED

Proposed changes to the Rules:-

There were no proposed changes to the rules

Setting of membership fees:-

The Chair advised that the Executive did not intend to raise the fees in the next year given the previous year increase but that the issue was open for discussion amongst members. There was some discussion about the benefits or otherwise of raising fees but in the end there seemed a consensus that the fees remain unchanged and a motion was put forward to retain the current fee structure.

It was moved Trevor Weatherhead seconded Greg Shea "**That the membership fees for the** 2023-24 financial year remain unchanged at Concession - \$35, Standard - \$50 and Industry - \$100".

CARRIED

Election of Management Committee:-

Election of Main Executive

The Chair advised that there had been nominations for the Management Committee received from:-

- President Mark Hall
- Vice President Megan Halcroft
- Secretary Tim Heard
- Treasurer Peter Stone

It was moved Linda Litz, seconded Dean Haley "That these nominations for the main executive be accepted."

The Chair advised that the Management Committee had decided not to fill the position of Communications Officer as this was not currently required. However, Trevor Weatherhead advised that it would be prudent to have this filled given it was an official position. Trevor then put forward a nomination for Tim Heard, subject to his approval as he was not at the meeting.

It was moved Trevor Weatherhead, seconded Stephen Brownlie "**That the nomination for Tim Heard as Communications Officer be accepted subject to his agreement.**"

Election of Branch Representatives

The Chair advised that there had been nominations from each of the branches that had voted on their representatives at the individual branch Annual General Meetings as follows:-

- Cairns Branch representative Stewart Clarke
- Cassowary Coast Branch representative Liz Lang
- Gladstone Branch representative John Starr
- Rockhampton Branch representative Lloyd Younger
- Wide Bay Branch representative Greg Pern
- Brisbane Branch representative– Dean Haley
- Coffs Harbour Branch representative Monica Rich
- Mid North Coast Branch representative Diane Norris
- Sydney Branch representative Sam Higgins

It was moved William Johnson, seconded David Anderson "**That these branch representative nominations be accepted.**"

CARRIED

Approval of Other Positions

The Chair asked if there were any other positions on the Management Committee that the meeting would like to create.

It was moved David Anderson, seconded Jennifer Shea "That a Web Administrator, Chair of the Honey Committee, and two Committee Member positions be added to the Management Committee."

CARRIED

The Chair advised there was no intention to fill the previous Membership Officer as this function will be undertaken by existing committee members.

The Chair called for nominations for the Web Administrator. Steve Flavel was nominated by Dean Haley, seconded by Greg Shea. Steve Flavel accepted. As there were no other nominations then Steve was declared elected.

The Chair called for nominations for the Chair of the Honey Committee. Dean Haley was nominated by Trevor Weatherhead, seconded by Jennifer Shea. Dean Haley accepted. As there were no other nominations then Dean was declared elected.

The Chair called for nominations to the two Committee Member positions.

- Stephen Brownlie was nominated by Trevor Weatherhead, seconded Greg Shea. Stephen Brownlie accepted.
- Tobias Smith was nominated by Steve Flavel, seconded David Anderson. Tobias Smith had prior to the meeting advised the Chair of his acceptance should he be nominated.
- Alex Griffiths was nominated by Dean Haley, seconded by Stephen Brownlie. Tobias Smith had prior to the meeting advised the Chair of his acceptance should he be nominated.

As there were 3 nominations for 2 positions a vote was required. Jennifer Shea was elected as the returning officer. Zoom votes were undertaken through the Chat function, and personal votes were undertaken through an anonymous paper vote approach.

The votes were counted by Jennifer Shea and checked by the Chair.

The two nominations that received the highest number of votes were Tobias Smith and Alex Griffiths and they were declared elected.

General Business:-

The Chair advised the meeting that an auditor needed to be appointed. Peter Stone had asked that the current auditor Fine Line Accounting could be selected as he felt the Association was getting value for the money spent.

There was a question from the members that the 2021-22 audit report was not done by Fine Line Accounting. The Chair offered to follow this matter up with the Treasurer.

It was moved Steve Flavel, seconded David Anderson "That Fine Line Accounting Pty Ltd of 9 Pinari Court, Mountain Creek Q 4557 be appointed as Auditor."

CARRIED

There being no further General Business the meeting was closed at 2.00pm AEST and the Chair thanked all for their attendance.